We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

#758 of 1,217 Indian in London
#10,702 of 17,321 Restaurants in London
RATINGS
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
CRC 10,225 - CRC 21,302
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Bangladeshi
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
19
3
1
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
19
3
1
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lamb chops service was excellent great food delivery chef
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 September 2020 via mobile

Wonderful dinner treat from SJA. Starter was delicious and everyone shared. Main courses was simply delicious. Service was prompt.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 24 July 2020

Please do not eat here firstly they double charged us for the masala sauce when we only ordered one! The masala sauce was terrible no flavour whatsoever, the nan bread was Burnt and so tough I couldn’t chew it and the Briyani was so tasteless!...Please don’t waste your money I had to throw it in the bin!More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
619spicei, Owner at Spice Island, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2020

Toni George Thank you very much for your feedback, I believe there was an misunderstanding relating to over charge about the massala sauce you have mentioned as we have being ruining spice island almost for 13 years we have no intention of over charging our...More

Reviewed 20 July 2020 via mobile

After long locked down it was nice to meet friends and have meal at the restaurant. Same impressive mouth watering delicious foods prepared by chef. Service was excellent and prompt. Highly recommend the place.

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 12 July 2020

I had a party of 10 to cater for we ordered from Spice Island. The food arrived on time, was still very hot, and more importantly absolutely delicious. The service and customer care at Spice Island is exemplary. Spice Island claim to be the best...Indian restaurant in Islington. I think they’re being too modest and would give any Indian restaurant in London a run for their money. And absolute must for great food.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 9 May 2020

During this these hard circumstances going on the food was amazing and the delivery came quicker than expected and driver was very polite cannot wait for the restraunt to be open again 😁😁😁😁

Date of visit: May 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 2 January 2020 via mobile

Few friends and colleagues got together and had wonderful evening just before the start of new year 2020. Foods was simply delicious from starter to deserts. Service was excellent and highly recommend.

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 6 November 2019 via mobile

Complement to management and Chef for cooking delicious dishes on every occasion. Yesterday was again served delicious foods. Servicewas excellent and prompt.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 November 2019 via mobile

The best lamb chops I ever had, staff are also very nice. The curry is also very nice and service is very good.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 2 November 2019

This restaurant has great potential given its prime location near Dalston Junction. It features an excellent, reasonably priced and well-executed Indian/Balti menu. The Madras Curry with Chicken was a standout dish for flavour and quality of ingredients. The prices are reasonable for London, and the...venue has been newly renovated with comfortable seating, good lighting and large windows looking out on the DeBeauvoir conservation area. However, there is something wrong with the table service; there were two of us arriving on a Friday evening about 21:30 - not especially late. We were promptly seated but no orders taken for at least 10 minutes. It was a good 30 minutes until food delivery; these are very long wait times for restaurants of this type. And worse, service ended before we completed eating; it was not even 23::00 and there was no followup service when we finished our mains. We made a polite request for Masala tea rather than chai, deferring to a more multicultural view of India. No was the response, we only have english tea. Feeling very unwelcome, we left the restaurant promptly and without leaving a tip. It's not too late for this venue to relaunch with proper service; otherwise I'd recommend saving it for a takeaway option when ordering through Deliveroo or Uber Eats (they service both channels).More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 25 October 2019 via mobile

Great tasting food, attentive service. If you are a Bengali or have taste for Bengali fish and/or meat delicacies, you should visit and sample their fare. We visited them twice within one week - looking forward to our next trip to London.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn London Hackney Hotel
1,062 reviews
.39 miles away
Islington Inn Hotel
113 reviews
.41 miles away
Kingsland Locke
52 reviews
.56 miles away
City Inn Hotel Express
227 reviews
1.05 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Chick N' Sours
202 reviews
.18 miles away
The Talbot
85 reviews
.04 miles away
The Scolt Head
53 reviews
.07 miles away
Three Sheets
16 reviews
.19 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
58 Gin | Gin School London
71 reviews
.38 miles away
Street Feast Dalston Yard
90 reviews
.41 miles away
Dalston Eastern Curve Garden
47 reviews
.38 miles away
The Scolt Head
23 reviews
.08 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Spice Island staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Spice Island

Yes, Spice Island offers takeaway services.

Yes, Spice Island offers delivery services.

Spice Island is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 4